Who Can Afford To Live Here?

I started thinking about this a few days ago after I received an e-mail from a resident in Tall Timbers. The e-mail reminded me of just how difficult it has become to live in the New Orleans area with the increase in home insurance and property taxes.

I should point out that while property taxes are understandable the exorbitant cost of home insurance is outrageous.

There was a great deal of fanfare not too long ago when several private insurance companies started writing home insurance policies locally.

The bloom soon fell off the rose after it we learned that those companies were only cherry picking a few homeowners out of the many thousands of homeowners who are at the mercy of the state run home insurance program, which has doubled and in some cases tripled the cost of some monthly mortgage payments.

Unless this problem changes there will only be two kinds of people left in New Orleans: The extremely wealthy and the extremely poor.

7 Comments

  1. Just imagine receiving a Sew. & Water bill for $800.00! That’s what happened to my sister,. She had been asking about a bill, and then she gets one for the year, each utility is doing the same thing, going up on their rates and our salaries are not moving up. Gasoline, food, utilities, rent, the necessary things in order to live here in New Orleans are outrageous. My daughter is trying to move back to New Orleans with her two little boys, but the rent is too high for her to afford and she doesn’t receive a voucher or Section 8 assistance. She needs daycare and preschool, in order to work ,but where do you go and how much will she have to pay? We have the second highest energy bills in the NATION! Hello, what ‘s wrong with this picture! I used to be in the middle class, but now I’ve come to realize there is no such class left here.

    WE NEED HELP AND WHERE ARE OUR ELECTED OFFICIALS?!?!?!?

  2. If Something is not done about the price of gas, rents, insurance, and the rediculas climbing of mortage prices, God for bid the rich would have to go to work just to support themselves because the poor won’t be able to do it an those woh can get out will. This is something that should not be talked about for 2,5, or 10 more years either.

  3. To Cathy -look around election time and you might find your elected officials! They will do anything for you at that time! You should change your sisters mind about coming back here. The people who are here are sorry they came back! The crime, the prices, the blight! It’s tough living.

  4. I just received my renewal for my home onwers insruance (wind & hail only) from Citizens. My insurnace company drop wind and hail after the storm. That portion of my insurance went up over 70%. That’s the third increase in three years. The premeuim almost doubled. I called Citizens, that was a joke… I called my insurance agent…….another joke…..nothing he can do. On top of that, my flood insurance also went up. My house did not flood…..I know some peple whose house had 12 feet of water and had to take there house down. There flood insurance is half of mine for the same price home……?????

    Born and raised here, but they are pushing us out…..Six months to retire and another middle class family will be leaving the area………..New Orleans will be only real rich people and poor people to work for the rich.

  5. Dear Mr. Robinson,
    Some time ago, possibly a year, I wrote you to say that I believe New Orleans is fast becoming the new Manhattan. Only the ultra rich will be able to comfortably afford to live in the city we once called home. I truly believe this change could have been actually planned and put into action at the first opportunity aka, Katrina.
    It’s always been the desire of some to see the city of New Orleans become a place of chique, sophisticated, high profile living. However, the poor of New Orleans,who also happen to be the root of New Orleans, stood in the way.
    Take as many pictures as you can. Hold onto the things that say ‘New Orleans’, because New Orleans as we remember it and as we would like it to be again is in a steady demise. How sad, how sad.
    What’s really sad is the fact that I’ve visited Manhattan on several occassions and believe me, it’s a wonderful place to visit but definitely I would not want to live there. I love the Broadway plays and lights. It’s great to walk and shop in New York but it’s not New Orleans. It amazes me when I meet people there and they learn that I’m from New Orleans and don’t fit the profile that they identify Black New Orleanians with, they look at me in an entirely different way. Hmmm, I wonder why? It’s because so many have heard only the negatives and corruption. that surrounds this city and state. Therefore when they meet a Black woman of what they consider to be above average intelligence it blows them away. If they only realized that when they meet women like me they are only meeting the average New Orleans woman. Most of the men and women I know from New Orleans are intelligent, intellectual and well rounded. Of course we have different personalities and characters but still we’re good people.
    So many desire to take the city and make it into what they want it to be rather than what it is. They want to take it from the people that make it New Orleans and create their new place for the rich and famous. Thus it’s becoming too difficult for the average person to live and God forbid that the individual would be a single parent or widow.
    However, in all fairness I must add that New Orleans is not the only place where it’s difficult to live and it’s not just the crime. This is a time that we must know that we are truly people of honor and integrity and not fall into the temptations that surround us. It would be so much easier to lie, steal, cheat and do what ever it takes to make it and at the same time justify the wrong doings. But again, this is not Manhattan.

  6. My husband and I travel to third world countries yearly to do missions work and we have heard it said that one of the indicators of a “3rd world country” is not only the rate of poverty, but the lack of a healthy middle class. There is also usually rampant political corruption at all governmental levels. Doesn’t this sound a whole lot like New Orleans?

  7. Mr. Robinson, you have hit the top of the nail when you said there will only be the extreme rich and the extreme poor left in this city. I used to consider myself middle class, but now i consider myself amongst the poor, living paycheck to paycheck. Everytime you think you are getting a head something else hits you to bring you back down to proverty. My flood insurance has tripled and my homeowners insurance is double and a half, and i’m afraid to see what is going to happen to me this year. I’m glad i have my Faith and MY GOD to cling to because this city is just ripping the people of more and more. Everything is going up except out paychecks and soon you will see a rash of suicides in this city because people just can’t do it anymore, not even with a 2 parent home. After Katrina I contemplated leaving tjis city for good, but I said no this is where i was born and raised and I want to this city to come back and be apart of the reason it survived, but now i wish I had followed my first mind, because i am broke, tired of fighting, and weary when I think of all the things to come.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

